ADAA's Board of Directors oversee the long-term strategic plan for ADAA, enabling the organization to advance its mission, vision and strategic objectives. The Board of Directors actively helps guide, support and oversee ADAA’s activities—setting long-term goals and priorities for the Association and monitors ADAA’s strategic direction, fiscal health as well as its financial, administrative, and personnel policies. ADAA's Board of Directors is comprised of distinguished researchers, clinicians, and psychiatrists from across the United States and Canada who contribute a broad range of experience in patient care, academics and research. ADAA could not serve the public and mental health professional community without the dedication and commitment of these volunteers, many of whom have demanding full-time careers outside of the work they do for ADAA. 

To accomplish these tasks, the board meets once a month, with special meetings of Board subgroups convened as necessary. The Executive Committee is comprised of the Board Chair, the President Elect, the Treasurer, the Past President and the Secretary.

The President and President-Elect and Treasurer of the Board of Directors are elected by the Board. The President presides over all meetings of the board. The current President of the Board is Beth Salcedo, MD, the President-Elect is Luana Marques, Phd and Karen Cassiday, PhD is the recent Past President. 

board message.png

ADAA Welcomes Luana Marques, PhD as President-Elect

ADAA is pleased to announce that Luana Marques, PhD has been elected President-Elect of the ADAA Board of Directors and will assume the Board Presidency in January of 2020. Dr. Marques has been an active member of ADAA since 2008 and has served on the board since 2016. Dr. Marques is an ADAA Clinical Fellow, serves as the board liaison to the ADAA Annual Conference Committee, the Professional Education Committee, the PTSD Special Interest Group and the Multicultural Advances Special Interest Group. Read more. 

ADAA Welcomes New Board President Beth Salcedo, MD

ADAA is pleased to announce that Beth Salcedo, MD has assumed the role of President of the ADAA Board of Directors (BOD) effective January 1, 2018. Dr. Salcedo will serve a two year term. Dr. Salcedo succeeds Karen L. Cassiday, PhD, who served as ADAA BOD President from 2015-2017. Dr. Cassiday will now serve as Immediate Past Board Chair.  Read more. 

Current Board Members

Mary E. (Beth) Salcedo, MD
The Ross Center for Anxiety & Related Disorders



LuanaMarques56_3_2.jpgLuana Marques, PhD
Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital


Karen Cassiday, PhD 
Past President 
The Anxiety Treatment Center, Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Sciences


Risa B. Weisberg, PhD 
VA Boston Healthcare System
Boston University School of Medicine


Scott Rauch 2017_1.jpgScott Rauch, MD
Harvard Medical School


Ken Goodman, LCSW
Private Practice - Los Angeles, CA



Paul Holtzheimer, MD
Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center
White River Junction VA Medical Center



Tanja Jovanovic, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Emory University School of Medicine
Director, Neurophysiology Laboratory, Grady Trauma Project


Sanjay Mathew_0.jpgSanjay Mathew, MD
Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Baylor College of Medicine


Vasiliki Michopolous 2018_1_0.pngVasiliki Michopoulos, PhD
Emory University School of Medicine



Charles Nemeroff Head Shot 2016_2.jpgCharles Nemeroff, MD, PhD
ADAA Chief Medical Officer
Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Institute for Early Life Adversity Research
Dell Medical School, The University of Texas at Austin



Sheila Rauch, PhD
Emory University School of Medicine
Atlanta VA Medical Center



Helen Blair Simpson 2018 _0.jpgHelen Blair Simpson, MD, PhD
Columbia University Medical Center/New York State Psychiatric Institute



Stein-Murray2-sml_0.jpgMurray Stein, MD, MPH — ex officio
University of California, San Diego



Douglas Mennin, PhD — ex officio
Columbia University



Honorary Board Member

Michael Gleason
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Consumer Brands, LLC

Past Board Presidents


mark-pollack-psychiatry (1)_0.jpgMark H. Pollack, MD - Chairman, Department of Psychiatry, Rush University Medical Center